Travel Tuesday: New York City

I was very fortunate to have worked in NYC for several years.  I would fly up Tues and home on Thurs.  I did that for 2 years. And then I spent the better part of a year there for 7-10 days at a time, fly home for the weekend, and then back again.  The work was excruciating but the city was AMAZING.

I can’t possibly tell you all of the things about NYC that I love so most of it will revolve around food.  Michael and I went back there in 2007 and squeezed everything we could into a few days.  We went to the Yankees (like going into hell and back), the US Open tennis (incredibly).  We got caught up in Brazil Day, which was a huge street festival and fair that shut down the streets surrounding our hotel.

And we ate.

And ate. And ate.  The best Mexican (home of the SIZZLING Fajita).  Italian.  Deli’s (oh, the deli’s).  My absolute favorite, favorite place in all of NYC is a place in Chinatown called New Green Bo.  They don’t take anything but cash.  You might sit with strangers.  And the line is usually out the door.  The food is amazing!  And it all about the soup dumplings.  Instructions on how to eat are included on each table.  Little chinese pork dumplings, made to order, that have a wonderful, soupy surprise inside. You poke a hole in the dumpling, let the soup drain into the spoon, eat the dumpling, then drink the soup.

Some random pictures are included below.

About nfoste2245

I am approaching 40 and have been married since my early 20's. I have become more than a little frustrated with having to answer incredibly personal questions about my choice to not have children. It is apparently taboo to talk about religion and politics, but confronting me about my reproductive choices is fair game. It is not a choice I made alone, quickly or lightly. My husband and I made it together. I am not "withholding" children or grandchildren from anyone. There is an astonishing lack of understanding over the idea that it is an actual choice, to have a child or not. There is also an amazing lack of support, discussion and resources for those like me, that have made the choice. This is not a blog for kid-haters, or mocking people for having kids. It is a place where we can talk about living full lives, without kids, and without guilt.

Posted on September 13, 2011, in Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. It really is a great place for food….and fashion, if you’re into that, which I generally am not to the extent most would be who like clothes. So many great restaurants, so little time. And you can have GREAT meals inexpensively, too. Too bad you don’t still come here more often.

Leave a comment