Long Run Saturday

Garmin Connect - NeighborhoodAnother Long Run Saturday.  The plan says 10 miles.  And I have zero motivation to drive somewhere to do it.  So that means walking out the front door and doing all 10 miles in my hilly neighborhood.

This is what the neighborhood “course” looks like, thanks to my Garmin.  It is a 1.5 mile loop.  Do the math.  That is 6 laps around, +1 mile.  I actually like the fact that I pass by the house 6 times in case I need to stop for anything.  And it builds mental toughness for me that I have to pass the house 6 times and not quit (yes, there is a difference between a pitstop and quitting).

What really motivates me to run the 10 miles is that I have been wanting bread pudding.  And it is taco night!  Which means beer.  All of this reminds me that I need to download about the last 6 months of garmin data.

Just for kicks and giggles, here is the elevation profile of my neighborhood!  I will actually be running this backwards.

Garmin Connect - Neighborhood
About nfoste2245

I am approaching 40 and have been married since my early 20's. I have become more than a little frustrated with having to answer incredibly personal questions about my choice to not have children. It is apparently taboo to talk about religion and politics, but confronting me about my reproductive choices is fair game. It is not a choice I made alone, quickly or lightly. My husband and I made it together. I am not "withholding" children or grandchildren from anyone. There is an astonishing lack of understanding over the idea that it is an actual choice, to have a child or not. There is also an amazing lack of support, discussion and resources for those like me, that have made the choice. This is not a blog for kid-haters, or mocking people for having kids. It is a place where we can talk about living full lives, without kids, and without guilt.

Posted on January 28, 2012, in Fitness, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I can relate, sounds a lot like the hood I live in also… lots of hills in Hali too…

    I could not run past my house 6 times, each time I would be more and more tempted to stop in for a little rest haha

    Good work with the run

    cheers

  2. Good luck today! Practice your loop enough without going crazy and you could join me on my 12-hour. 0.49 mile loop adventure in May (an ultramarathon called Mind the Ducks). I am hoping to get around that loop 102 times.I’m not going to practice a loop that small—-I’m afraid it will drive me crazy. But I love the idea of it on race day incase I need food, water, a shoe change, clothing addition or subtraction. Most ultras have checkpoints every 5-10 miles….

    I did a Metabolic effect class, ran 3.75, then took a yogalates class. A friend is coming over to walk with me for two hours this afternoon. Have to work those muscles a bunch too since I know I can’t run for 12 hours straight.

    • Crazy is a good word for it. I counted backwards. 6. 5. 4. The first 8 miles went ok and then everything went to hell. But it is done! I will take a sucky 10 over nothing any day.
      102 laps??? That is a lot of counting backwards. Will you have a team to help you count and stay fueled and hydrated?

      • My cousin is going with me and there is a pretty decent team of volunteers. Since it’s only a half-mile loop we are never more than a quarter-mile from aid if it is needed….or our chair/blankets, shoes and clothes…. She is great and will tell me I need to rest if I do. The UM group provides food ALL day for us, but we are free to bring our own gels, bars, whatever we want (some people are very particular to flavors) and she has some great sponsors like Orgain and Once Again Nut Butters, so we know that will be there for us as well.

        And yes…I am a HUGE counter, so will definitely be counting backward until my goal is met. And I will likely be tallying them on paper every few so I can add them up should I get distracted.

  1. Pingback: Weekend Recap « The Kidless Kronicles

Leave a Reply

