Regarding: Upgrades

Apple iPhone 4S - Buy the New iPhone with Free Shipping - Apple Store (U.S.)It turns out that I am eligible for ANOTHER new phone on 6/1.  I am definitely one of those people that upgrades their phone every chance they get.  Last time, I stole Michael’s upgrade so that I could upgrade early.  He didn’t care.  He is happy with his phone. And he can upgrade on 8/1 if he really wants to.

It is no secret around here that I am an Apple junkie.  But right now I have an Evo Shift and have been happy with it.  Mostly. I like having a keyboard still.  I haven’t quite been ready to go all touch-screen.

You iPhone users out there, tell me.  Did it really change your life?  Do I just have to get an iPhone now that it is available on my carrier?  Help me out.  I only have 55 days to decide!

There will be Food Friday later but I am not telling what it is.  Yet.

About nfoste2245

I am approaching 40 and have been married since my early 20's. I have become more than a little frustrated with having to answer incredibly personal questions about my choice to not have children. It is apparently taboo to talk about religion and politics, but confronting me about my reproductive choices is fair game. It is not a choice I made alone, quickly or lightly. My husband and I made it together. I am not "withholding" children or grandchildren from anyone. There is an astonishing lack of understanding over the idea that it is an actual choice, to have a child or not. There is also an amazing lack of support, discussion and resources for those like me, that have made the choice. This is not a blog for kid-haters, or mocking people for having kids. It is a place where we can talk about living full lives, without kids, and without guilt.

Posted on April 6, 2012, in Shopping and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Nicole, it really did change my life. I had been using a pseudo “smart” phone that was awful and had to be replaced 3 times before that. I loved it. I upgraded and switched to an Android to try it out and give it a chance last fall. I got it for about $60, but it was well rated. At first I loved the bigger screen, but it crashes and the size has made it awkward to use with my smaller female hands. I cannot use it one-handed without dropping it often. I preferred the iPHone, but I have a 3GS, so I’m not switching back even though I still have it. I’m going to wait it out until my next upgrade and suck up the cost of buying the iPhone again. I may even wait and live with this phone until the upgrade after that.

    if I were you and you can justify the expense, I’d get it. You adjust to the virtual keyboard. The Android is interesting in that it has several keyboard types to choose from. Two are variations of similar layouts, but the third is called Swipe and works by you beginning to write out the words with your finger on the touchscreen and it finishes it for you. Sort of like shorthand with English letters. I don’t use it a lot. There is also much more voice recognition as well where you can fore go the keyboard entirely with both phones now (but you have to be in a relatively noise free area).

    Don’t know if any of that helped you, but there is my opinion. lol

    • I have swipe already and sometimes it works great. Other times not at all. That is why I still like a keyboard. I am so much faster on that. I still have a Blackberry for work so I will always be used to a keyboard I guess. I have heard that the Android market is better and much more of it is free than the App store.

  2. peasandcrayons

    I have a droid phone — samsung captivate… im not in love with it but my husband and his fam all have it and looove it — and an ipad. so my vote would be iphone b/c I am so butt-crazy in love with the ipad that I now WANT an iphone! I dont know a single person with an iphone that ever ever has wanted a different phone. Hope that helps! ❤

  3. peasandcrayons

    ooh and instagram is for droid AND iphone AND ipads. its all over! hehe

  4. I hope you’ve decided to go with the iPhone. It really is a life-changer, especially for an Apple fan. You’ll get used to the touch screen, trust me.

  5. Yes! You should get the iPhone, I highly encourage getting the iPhone 4s. I so adore mine and it’s changed my life. Ok, yes I have become one of those face-planted into phone people I previously loathed but I can’t stop myself. I have all my favourite blogs bookmarked (including yours) which I addictively read before runs for inspiration and that go-to spirit. I use the apps to run with too as I am Garminless right now. Oh, there are a zillion things I could mention about why you should join the iPhone cult… Most importantly: Apple supports all of its upgrades to all the serires of iPhone. Got a 3GS? No worries! You’ll be able to get the newest IOS 5.1(operating system) on your phone, that doesn’t happen as often with android, you pretty much have to get a new phone every year. The dual core processor is better/faster than what I have in my laptop and the retina display on the iPhone 4 and iPhone 4s is unmatched–gorgeous.
    Yeah, I admit it, I’m hooked for life and I’m just trying to bring other people into iPhone cult with me. Hey, that is exactly what happened to me and running–a friend showed me the door and I got swallowed up into it–happily.

Leave a Reply

