Saturday: McDowell Mountain Frenzy

IMG_0321This morning was the Aravaipa Running McDowell Mountain Frenzy 5 mile trail race.  This was organized by the same group I volunteered for last month.  You can read that one here.  But this time, I punched my ticket to run.

The options were: 5 Mile, 10 Mile, 25 K, 50 K and 50 Mile.  Uh yea, sign me up for the 5 mile.  And thanks for extending it from the usual 5k to 5 miles, that actually turned out to be about 5.3 miles.  That last mile over the mountain was AWESOME.

In fact, the first mile and half or so felt mostly great.  I had a hard time controlling my breathing.  I am not really sure why. But the first half or so passed by with little ill effects.  Then there was a water stop.  A HARD climb up, the photo op (thanks NICK for the warning that the photo was coming) and then some flat.  Unfortunately, I had looked at the elevation profile BEFORE the race and knew that right after mile 4 came the BIG climb.

IMG_0320And then I could see it.  And see my sister climbing up it.  And I said OH GOOD GOD.  Out loud.  To no one.  Because I was alone.  I didn’t say last.  I said alone.

But the climb wasn’t really as bad as it seemed. Except that the top 3 10 milers passed me going UP the mountain.  I did everything I could to get out of their way.  And then there was a fun downhill, up one more little ridge and on to the finish.

Thanks again to Nick and Jamil for putting on a great event.  It was well organized, went off on time and the trails were VERY marked well.  If I could follow them, most anyone could.  Follow the blue signs and the black and orange polka dot ribbons.  No trouble at all.

Yes, Jamil, I shook my fists at you.  But I would never hurt you.  Or curse you.  Not out loud anyway.

This one took more out of me than I was expecting.  Although with only 3 trail runs under my belt since we have been in Phoenix, what could I expect really?  I will definitely punch my ticket for another short trail race.  And I would love to volunteer next year and see some of the 50K and 50 mile runners later in the day.

 

About nfoste2245

I am approaching 40 and have been married since my early 20's. I have become more than a little frustrated with having to answer incredibly personal questions about my choice to not have children. It is apparently taboo to talk about religion and politics, but confronting me about my reproductive choices is fair game. It is not a choice I made alone, quickly or lightly. My husband and I made it together. I am not "withholding" children or grandchildren from anyone. There is an astonishing lack of understanding over the idea that it is an actual choice, to have a child or not. There is also an amazing lack of support, discussion and resources for those like me, that have made the choice. This is not a blog for kid-haters, or mocking people for having kids. It is a place where we can talk about living full lives, without kids, and without guilt.

Posted on December 9, 2012, in Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

