Tuesday: Shame and Work

20121009-190545.jpgToday, I submitted Annabelle to Dog Shaming.  If you haven’t checked them out, please do.  SO Funny.  I don’t know if she will get picked, but she should.  The picture would have been better if I had gotten her with the empty pan and spatula.

Today was a non-running day.  I rode my bike and then did something I have been trying to do each day.  It consists of: 50 jumping jacks, 5 pushups, 20 crunches, 20 mountain climbers, 30 second plank.  It is harder than it sounds.

Bike: 5.5 miles.  Above mentioned workout.

Meals are still in a rut and it is starting to show with some snacking.  That ends now.  Breakfast was coffee and a protein bar.  Lunch was egg beaters, turkey sausage and an english muffin.  There was a peach and an apple.  That peach was one of the BEST I have had in a long time.  Then there was too much snack mix.  And I transitioned to dinner with a Bertolli Risotto bag (added extra shrimp) and some wine.

I work from home full-time.  From time to time, the dog will pitch a fit while I am on the phone.  But there are these things called a MUTE button, and a backyard.  People need to learn that a home office is not a substitute for daycare.  Teach your kids to stay out of the office if they are at home.  The rest of your colleagues don’t want to hear you parenting on conference calls.  It is still WORK.  Let’s try to be professional.

I don’t know if I have mentioned it here (lately) but I just switched roles with my current employer.  I have been going through a bit of a hard time with work in the past 1-2 years.  Just not happy or finding any satisfaction with it.  In fact, this blog started as an outlet for some of the things I wasn’t getting from work.  And as a way to explore a potential new area of study (web design).  Well, my old boss (whom I loved) had an open position on his team and I took it.  It isn’t the best department to be in, but the people will make it all worthwhile.  And, I am taking a leap into managing people.  Just a few at first, to see how I do.  But it is something I have never tried to do before.  Should be interesting.

About nfoste2245

I am approaching 40 and have been married since my early 20's. I have become more than a little frustrated with having to answer incredibly personal questions about my choice to not have children. It is apparently taboo to talk about religion and politics, but confronting me about my reproductive choices is fair game. It is not a choice I made alone, quickly or lightly. My husband and I made it together. I am not "withholding" children or grandchildren from anyone. There is an astonishing lack of understanding over the idea that it is an actual choice, to have a child or not. There is also an amazing lack of support, discussion and resources for those like me, that have made the choice. This is not a blog for kid-haters, or mocking people for having kids. It is a place where we can talk about living full lives, without kids, and without guilt.

Posted on October 10, 2012, in Annabelle, Fitness, Food/Restaurants, Uncategorized, Work and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

