Long Run Saturday: Multitasking and Farms

The Farm at South Mountain | WelcomeOh, where to start?  The plan said 8 and I was shooting for ten. With a half marathon in 2 weeks (Yikes) I really wanted to get that double-digit run in.  But my longest run in MONTHS has been 6.  So was jumping to 10 unrealistic, not to mention risky?  Well, I managed 9.  A very slow 9.  Still not sure how I am going to get through 13 in 2 weeks.

Run: 9m/1:54:50

Mind you, I did all of that running on an empty stomach with just Propel Zero in my water bottle.  I read that doing “famished” runs helps you burn fat.  But only in runs over an hour.  So I figured some multitasking was in order.  Running AND burning fat at the same time.

When I got back, I just wanted the coldest thing possible.  That was more Propel and part of an orange.  The orange wasn’t very good.  So after a shower (and rocking the pink compression socks) I had a protein bar and a diet pepsi.  I always seem to want either a cold soda or a cold beer after a run.  And since it was 830am, the soda seemed more appropriate.

For lunch, I had a Groupon to The Farm at South Mountain.  We gathered up my sister and BIL (well, they drove to our house) and headed out.  It was rather warm, but we found a shady table to eat at.  The sandwiches were amazing and the pie looked even better.  Michael and I shared a flank steak sandwich and a chicken salad sandwich.  But the pie kept calling.  It will be dinner.

After that we hit up World of Maps (seriously) so that I could exchange  trail map I had bought on Amazon.  Turns out I bought the wrong one and instead of sending it back, I could just go to the store and exchange it.  I didn’t even know when I ordered it that they were right down the street.  I am not sure the map is all that helpful, but my sister had a great idea to throw it on the wall and keep track of the trails I have done.

The rest of the day was kind of odd.  There was chips and salsa and a couple of beers.  Then we headed out to an Oktoberfest that was small with not a lot to choose from.  I shared an apple strudel and then had a few bites of ice cream when I got home.

About nfoste2245

I am approaching 40 and have been married since my early 20's. I have become more than a little frustrated with having to answer incredibly personal questions about my choice to not have children. It is apparently taboo to talk about religion and politics, but confronting me about my reproductive choices is fair game. It is not a choice I made alone, quickly or lightly. My husband and I made it together. I am not "withholding" children or grandchildren from anyone. There is an astonishing lack of understanding over the idea that it is an actual choice, to have a child or not. There is also an amazing lack of support, discussion and resources for those like me, that have made the choice. This is not a blog for kid-haters, or mocking people for having kids. It is a place where we can talk about living full lives, without kids, and without guilt.

Posted on September 23, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

