Long Run Saturday: Leftovers and Lockouts

Long Run Saturday was 5 miles and it felt GREAT.  Isn’t it amazing how runs can be so different.  Thursday, nothing felt good and I struggled through 3 miles.  Today, it felt great.  I wasn’t bored. It seemed to fly by.  Even the hills didn’t feel that bad.  I don’t know why but I will take it and say thank you.

Run: 5.0 miles / 58:40

As a reward for doing 5 (instead of 4), I ate an apple muffin with my coffee.

It was Bountiful Basket pickup day.  This is only HALF of what we received.  For $15.  The other half included broccoli, carrots, potatoes, radishes, peppers, etc.  So I had an apple and then we went out to run errands.  I managed to down 48 oz of cold water in under an hour.  Not the brightest idea to do that and then try to run errands.

Lunch was leftover flank steak, sweet potato and corn around 1:30  And then some carrots.

Dinner was a toss up.  To eat at the ballpark or take something with me?  Yes, you can bring your own food into the ballpark.  But then I remembered the taco’s I had there back in June.  Taco’s it is!!!  Really I was just too lazy to fix something at home.  But even when I got there, I ended up with an Italian Sausage and a very large beer.

The night was capped off by the NHL locking out the players for the upcoming season.  Or until they can come to a deal.  The last lockout, the players gave the owners a salary cap in return for 57% of the revenue.  Now, the owners want some of the revenue back since the league is making more money.  GREEDY BASTARDS.  Maybe if they gave some on the salary cap.  But why should the players give back what the owners gave them the last time?  Gary Bettman needs to be fired.  I was looking forward to my first Coyotes season.

How was your Saturday?

About nfoste2245

I am approaching 40 and have been married since my early 20's. I have become more than a little frustrated with having to answer incredibly personal questions about my choice to not have children. It is apparently taboo to talk about religion and politics, but confronting me about my reproductive choices is fair game. It is not a choice I made alone, quickly or lightly. My husband and I made it together. I am not "withholding" children or grandchildren from anyone. There is an astonishing lack of understanding over the idea that it is an actual choice, to have a child or not. There is also an amazing lack of support, discussion and resources for those like me, that have made the choice. This is not a blog for kid-haters, or mocking people for having kids. It is a place where we can talk about living full lives, without kids, and without guilt.

Posted on September 16, 2012, in Fitness, Food/Restaurants, Running, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

