Wednesday: The New 3

Ryan Hall Not Running, Considering Getting a Coach | NewswireHow could I resist?  You can read my personal thoughts on Ryan hall here.  And the full article here.

Last night we BEAT LA!  We had tickets to the Dbacks v Dodgers game (thanks Mom and Dad!) and it was quite the pitchers dual.  Dbacks came out on top 1-0.

This morning was a brisk 4 mile run. It felt great out there.  Almost chilly.  And the run went well to0.  46:20 or thereabouts.  I am trying to make 4 the new 3.  I don’t even know what my plan said to do this week.  I will have to look.

Because of the game and our late arrival back home (is 9:30 late to anyone else?), I didn’t make our overnight oats.  So this morning was a boring, and yet still delicious, protein bar and coffee.  And there were carrots.  There are always carrots but I can’t keep posting those boring pictures.

 

Turkey burger on a sandwich round with guacamole and veggie straws.  Another wonderful nectarine.

For dinner, we went out.  It was “date night”.  I hate the pressure of date night.  Why do I have to date my own husband?  But it is nice to get out.  I had a Groupon to a NY style deli that sounded good.  I had chicken salad.  I was not impressed.  Michael had a Reuben and said it was great.

Speaking of Groupon, I had one for some cupcakes back in NC (Bows ‘n’ Batter for anyone local).  I didn’t have a chance to use it before we left so I gave it to my good friend J. When she tried to use it, a couple of times, the woman told her that she “was no longer honoring Groupons.”  That they were in some sort of dispute and Groupon owed her money.  But she was more than happy to make my friend some cupcakes at the normal price.  I don’t believe I would have handled it that way if I were a small business owner.   Word of mouth can make or break a small business and you would want as many people to try your product as possible.  Maybe she could have offered her own reduced rate?  Or some sort of deal of her own?  But now what she gets is people like me telling all of you of the bad experience.  Good luck with your cupcake business.  Really.

But my experience with Groupon, however, went much differently.  Upon hearing of our trouble, they immediately credited my account for the price of the Groupon.  So do I believe (or care) about her dispute?  Maybe, but tot so much.

About nfoste2245

I am approaching 40 and have been married since my early 20's. I have become more than a little frustrated with having to answer incredibly personal questions about my choice to not have children. It is apparently taboo to talk about religion and politics, but confronting me about my reproductive choices is fair game. It is not a choice I made alone, quickly or lightly. My husband and I made it together. I am not "withholding" children or grandchildren from anyone. There is an astonishing lack of understanding over the idea that it is an actual choice, to have a child or not. There is also an amazing lack of support, discussion and resources for those like me, that have made the choice. This is not a blog for kid-haters, or mocking people for having kids. It is a place where we can talk about living full lives, without kids, and without guilt.

Posted on September 13, 2012, in Fitness, Food/Restaurants, Running, Sports, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. On Ryan Hall: eh, he’s human, give him a break. I like the guy. We’re all trying to figure out what we need to do in this life. Maybe God told him to finally get a coach!

    • Personally, I think God gave him a coach and Ryan fired him. And as he said at the Olympics, about himself, “I am realizing just how awesome I really am.” Someone should remind him that pride is a sin.

  2. He said that about himself? geez….

Leave a Reply

