Monday: Mountains and Perseverance

062880.pdfToday was supposed to be a run day.  5 miles.  But after a night where I just couldn’t stay asleep, I let myself take the morning off.  That doesn’t mean I took the whole day off.  At 5pm, I headed out to South Mountain park to take a hike.

I am new to true hiking and 2 miles took me just over an hour.  But it was fun. And hard. And peaceful.  All at the same time.  To give you some perspective, I didn’t even make it to the little fork at the bottom before I turned around.

So back on plan tomorrow.  5 miles in the morning.

Now somehow, I just cannot wrap my brain around certain foods.  My sister calls me a freak (true) for not liking cheese (except pizza).  My brother-in-law almost disavowed me because I don’t eat sandwiches.  But that is really about deli meat (I like burgers, BLT’s, etc) so he gave me a pass.  I don’t like yogurt, but I keep buying it and trying it.  Poor Michael gets all the leftover, rejected yogurt.  And don’t get me started on pears (they squeak on your teeth).

I want to like oatmeal but I don’t, unless it is cookie.  It is a texture thing.  And I especially want to like overnight oats.   But again, it is a texture thing.  Until I recently read a FAQ and comments on this blog about steel cut oats.  That they stay crunchier.  “Nuttier” was the word used I think.  So what the hell, I will give steel cut oats a go.

SUCCESS!  They WERE nuttier and crunchier and all of those things that solved the texture issues.  And a great jaw workout.  The wonderful thing about overnight oats is that you make them ahead and just about anything goes.  Nuts, fruit, jam, peanut butter, honey, chocolate chips, etc.  Today’s hit was peanut butter and chocolate chips. Tomorrow will be raspberries and vanilla.  Even Michael is eating them!

What a great departure from my boring, typical protein bar.  And all of these different ideas are just swirling around in my head!  Strawberries, mango, oranges, kiwi?  I have heard to stay away from pineapple unless you add it in the morning of.  So I am very glad I took the time to read the FAQ’s and the many, many comments that led me to steel cut oats.

There was also a turkey burger, veggie straws, carrots, a trail mix bar, a Starbucks Frappuchino, a pork chop and a very small baked potato.

 

About nfoste2245

I am approaching 40 and have been married since my early 20's. I have become more than a little frustrated with having to answer incredibly personal questions about my choice to not have children. It is apparently taboo to talk about religion and politics, but confronting me about my reproductive choices is fair game. It is not a choice I made alone, quickly or lightly. My husband and I made it together. I am not "withholding" children or grandchildren from anyone. There is an astonishing lack of understanding over the idea that it is an actual choice, to have a child or not. There is also an amazing lack of support, discussion and resources for those like me, that have made the choice. This is not a blog for kid-haters, or mocking people for having kids. It is a place where we can talk about living full lives, without kids, and without guilt.

Posted on September 11, 2012, in Fitness, Food/Restaurants and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

