(Lack of) Focus

I was reading through lists of fitness blogs and healthy living blogs when it occurred to me that this blog is really all over the place.  It started just over a year ago as a way to find some direction and deal with what I was calling a career crisis.  But it lacks focus.  Just like my career.  Go figure.

The idea was originally to chronicle what is was like to live a full life without kids.  But that seems to turn into complaining about kids.  Or parents.  And I just don’t want to complain that much.  Not out loud anyway.  I have lots of time in my life to workout, go to baseball and hockey games or even just read. But I know people with kids that make time for all of those things as well.

Is it a running or fitness blog?  I certainly do talk about my runs.  Mostly how bad they are.  And I am training and working out  just about ll the time.  But I wouldn’t say I focus on that.

Is it a travel blog?  We love to travel and I enjoy sharing where we have been.  But I don’t know that we travel enough to make this just about travel.  And we do tend to revisit the same places over and over.

Is is a food blog?  Good god no.  Or my pictures, when I remember to include them, would be better.  I love to bake and have no trouble sharing the recipes.  But I am about the worst and most boring eater in the world (no low fat baking here).  I LOVE me some chicken wings and ranch dressing.  And I can’t seem to say no to an animal cracker.  And I eat 5 lbs of carrots a week.  I must having an eating disorder (insert sarcasm).

There are two things I do every day (well, more than two but those pictures are not going on the blog).  Workout (of some sort) and eat.  Except Sloth Sunday.   Which used to be Mimosa Sunday.   Anyway, that will be the focus.  I need to find the focus in my real life to push my workouts and clean up my eating.  So there you go.  If we are traveling WHILE I am eating and running, that will find its way here as well.

And we are kidless.  On purpose. And happy.  And we remember most days that we get to do a lot of fun stuff because we don’t need a babysitter or to pay for daycare.  Get over it.

Tomorrow, I begin again.

About nfoste2245

I am approaching 40 and have been married since my early 20's. I have become more than a little frustrated with having to answer incredibly personal questions about my choice to not have children. It is apparently taboo to talk about religion and politics, but confronting me about my reproductive choices is fair game. It is not a choice I made alone, quickly or lightly. My husband and I made it together. I am not "withholding" children or grandchildren from anyone. There is an astonishing lack of understanding over the idea that it is an actual choice, to have a child or not. There is also an amazing lack of support, discussion and resources for those like me, that have made the choice. This is not a blog for kid-haters, or mocking people for having kids. It is a place where we can talk about living full lives, without kids, and without guilt.

Posted on September 10, 2012, in Blogging, Fitness, Food/Restaurants, Running, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. What is there to get over? Being a 0-child family and being happy that way? Oh gods… how terrible of you… enjoying your free time and your partner sans children… what a horrible way to live. I have 3 kids… on purpose. I’m happy. Get over it :p

    I’m training for a half-marathon in November. I read books… sometimes books that aren’t about baby animals and pooping and Sesame Street characters even. I visit friends, sometimes without my kids… the horror!

    You do realize that there are people who have to maintain the 2 child per couple ratio to continue our human existence, correct? You are thankful that someone pooped you out and chose to love and rear you, right? The fact of the matter is, someone, at some point in your life, was happy to have you, was grateful that you were alive even when you were disgusting or bratty or kept them from doing something they’d rather have been doing.

Leave a Reply

