Weekend Recap: Awards

Where to begin?  Last week was a whirlwind of packers, boxes, movers, trucks, unhappy cats, anxious dogs, and living out of a duffel bag.

Tuesday, they came to pack the house.  Wednesday, they came to load it on a truck.  By Thursday, we were on the road.

Two cars, two dogs, three cats, and six fish made it 2,170 miles across seven states in 3 days!  We made it to Arizona!!!  And everyone is still alive.  Even the fish.  I was AMAZED at how well everyone, including me, did in the cars and hotels.

I have some awards to give.

To Tennessee:  The state that spent the most time with us.  And is the best protected.  We saw two state troopers every 5 miles or so for over 400 miles.

To Arkansas:  Where I saw the most dead number of these (8)
Armadillo

And not a single Walmart.

To Oklahoma:  Where we saw the most dust devils (4) and came in a close second in the dead armadillo category with 3.  And it also wins the most nothing category.  And two Walmart’s.

To Texas:  Where Michael just had to go here during our stay in Amarillo
Big Texan
And no, he did not try the 72 ounce challenge.  The food was so-so at best. Texas was also where we saw the first of these

 Texas wind farm

I just thought it was too cool.

To New Mexico: The prettiest state I think I have ever seen.  We actually arrived in New Mexico about 10 minutes before leaving Amarillo.  So, you see?  Time travel is possible.  There were more wind farms in New Mexico.

And finally to Arizona:  Where we saw more dust devils, got hit with a monsoon and made record time due to high speed limits and two time zone changes.  Our new city of Phoenix

View of Phoenix from South Mountain

About nfoste2245

I am approaching 40 and have been married since my early 20's. I have become more than a little frustrated with having to answer incredibly personal questions about my choice to not have children. It is apparently taboo to talk about religion and politics, but confronting me about my reproductive choices is fair game. It is not a choice I made alone, quickly or lightly. My husband and I made it together. I am not "withholding" children or grandchildren from anyone. There is an astonishing lack of understanding over the idea that it is an actual choice, to have a child or not. There is also an amazing lack of support, discussion and resources for those like me, that have made the choice. This is not a blog for kid-haters, or mocking people for having kids. It is a place where we can talk about living full lives, without kids, and without guilt.

Posted on July 23, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I love this post so much. How did you transport the fish, Nicole? Much happiness in your new home city. Your trip sounds like it was a pretty smooth adventure.

    • Ha! Michael put the fish in a sports-type cooler with holes drilled in the lid. The kind with a spout at the bottom. And he somehow found a battery operated filter. So now he drains out some of the water from the bottom and adds fresh water. But all of our stuff will be here tomorrow. I am sure that will be top of his list, getting the aquarium set up.

Leave a Reply

