Regarding: Crossfit

CrossFit Winston Salem – - -CWPeople have been asking me what I think of Crossfit and how am I liking it.  Now that I have been to a whopping THREE classes, it is time to share.

First, I was almost scared out of going to the first class.  Everyone said how hard it was, that it was no joke, etc.  But the reality is that it is just like any other workout or fitness class.  You get out what you put in.  If you push yourself, you will feel it.  If you phone it in, you won’t.  And I have plenty of BOTH of those types of days.

Next, I thought it was going to be killer TOUGH all the time.  And it really isn’t.  Saturday was killer.  Monday was even worse.  But last night was about max weight.  So not quite the same kind of intensity as the other two visits.  But tough in a different way.  I was intimidated by the weight plates and bars and racks.  But Crossfit Chrissie was awesome and worked with me all night on my form.  Apparently, my squats have been pretty bad.  But I am working on it.  My shoulder presses and dead lifts were better.

It is a supportive, group environment.  But not rah-rah like some other group fitness classes.  It is more (to me) like the finish line of a race.  The people that finish ahead of you stick around to cheer you on.  No judgement.  Everyone finishes and it is about improving your own personal best, not beating someone else.

And you don’t have to be fit to start.  There are adjustments and modifications that the staff can help you with that make it accessible for anyone.  It is going to be hard. But that is why it is an effective and fast way to get in shape.  Or improve your fitness if you are already fit.

Don’t expect fancy facilities and equipment.  Picture empty space in an industrial type park, with a loading dock or other type of big, open doors.  A big empty space with weight plates and jump ropes on the walls.  A dry erase board and chalk everywhere.  You write on the floors, the walls, etc.  Keeping track of weight and rounds.  NO AC.  Ceiling fans if you are lucky.  And loud music.

To be honest, I am not sure I would replace my gym membership with Crossfit simply because my gym is cheaper.  But I would definitely consider a punch card or using this as a supplement to my gym and running.  I have 3 weeks left in my “free” month.  As me again when it is over.

Another great post on Crossfit is here, at Posh Meets Pavement.

About nfoste2245

I am approaching 40 and have been married since my early 20's. I have become more than a little frustrated with having to answer incredibly personal questions about my choice to not have children. It is apparently taboo to talk about religion and politics, but confronting me about my reproductive choices is fair game. It is not a choice I made alone, quickly or lightly. My husband and I made it together. I am not "withholding" children or grandchildren from anyone. There is an astonishing lack of understanding over the idea that it is an actual choice, to have a child or not. There is also an amazing lack of support, discussion and resources for those like me, that have made the choice. This is not a blog for kid-haters, or mocking people for having kids. It is a place where we can talk about living full lives, without kids, and without guilt.

Posted on June 1, 2012, in Fitness, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

