Food Friday: Traveling

Random note: my coffee tastes funny.

I am not going to be making something extravagant today.  Nothing that comes to mind (crack brownies) could survive in my bag, through the airport, being kicked under the seat, etc.  So I will talk about traveling with food.

I ALWAYS travel with food.  Even if it is just down the street, there is a trail mix bar in my bag somewhere.  But for a trip involving a plane, it goes to a different level.

Airlines have gotten stingy with food.  And nowadays you are lucky for some water and a peanut.  So when Michael says he doesn’t want anything, and then I pull out my bag of goodies, whose hand do you think is first in the bag?  His.

Staples:  trail mix bars, trek mix, animal crackers, nuts, skittles, an apple.

Tomorrows flight and long van ride upon arriving has me thinking that I need to add something more substantial to the bag.  Like lunch.  What can I pack for lunch that will get through security (sorry, no soup) and arrive in relatively one piece?  Lucky for me, there is a Jamba Juice in our departure airport and I will most definitely be grabbing a smoothie before we leave!

Definitely something with peanut butter…

About nfoste2245

I am approaching 40 and have been married since my early 20's. I have become more than a little frustrated with having to answer incredibly personal questions about my choice to not have children. It is apparently taboo to talk about religion and politics, but confronting me about my reproductive choices is fair game. It is not a choice I made alone, quickly or lightly. My husband and I made it together. I am not "withholding" children or grandchildren from anyone. There is an astonishing lack of understanding over the idea that it is an actual choice, to have a child or not. There is also an amazing lack of support, discussion and resources for those like me, that have made the choice. This is not a blog for kid-haters, or mocking people for having kids. It is a place where we can talk about living full lives, without kids, and without guilt.

Posted on April 20, 2012, in Food/Restaurants, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. PB&J or peanut butter and banana. You probably know this already, but if you go with the PB&J, put PB on both sides of the bread so the jelly doesn’t leak through and get the bread soggy. We have special sandwich containers for traveling!

Leave a Reply

