Movie Review Monday: Game of Thrones

Game of Thrones (TV Series 2011) - IMDbWinter is Coming.

Ok, the last actual movie I saw was The Hunger Games. And who hasn’t heard about that by now?  So I decided to talk about Game of Thrones.

From IMDB: Seven noble families fight for control of the mythical land of Westeros. Political and sexual intrigue is pervasive. The dominant families are the Houses Stark, Lannister, and Baratheon. Robert Baratheon, King of Westeros, asks his old friend Eddard, Lord Stark, to serve as Hand of the King, or highest official. Secretly warned that the previous Hand was assassinated, Eddard accepts in order to investigate further. Meanwhile the Queen’s family, the Lannisters, may be hatching a plot to take power. Across the sea, the last members of the previous and deposed ruling family, the Targaryens, are also scheming to regain the throne. The friction between these clans, and with the remaining great Houses Greyjoy, Tully, Arryn, and Tyrell, leads to full-scale war. All while a very ancient evil awakens in the farthest North. Amidst the war and political confusion, a neglected military order of misfits, the Night’s Watch, is all that stands between the realms of men and icy horrors beyond. Written by Tfilm78 and Cajunman

I had wanted to watch Game of Thrones from the beginning.  But missed the beginning and couldn’t seem to jump in in the middle. Duh.  Once I saw the beginning, I understood why it was so hard to jump into the middle.  You have to get the family relations straight from the beginning.

We watched 8 episodes (had already seen the first two) of Game of Thrones yesterday to try and get caught up for the season premiere last night. OMG!  I can’t remember any show or series that I could sit and watch for 8 straight (almost straight) hours.  Well, I can think of one.  Band of Brothers.  Which I already reviewed.  And then we watched the Season 2 premiere tonight.

Game of Thrones is amazing.  Family, intrigue, power, kings, wars, mystery and scandal.  What more could you ask for in a show.  It will be curious to see if they can avoid the Season 2 slump (a la Lost).   HBO has definitely found a new viewer and something to fill the space that Big Love left empty.

Gummy Rating:  4 Gummies.  I can’t give it 5 until I see where Season 2 goes.

 

About nfoste2245

I am approaching 40 and have been married since my early 20's. I have become more than a little frustrated with having to answer incredibly personal questions about my choice to not have children. It is apparently taboo to talk about religion and politics, but confronting me about my reproductive choices is fair game. It is not a choice I made alone, quickly or lightly. My husband and I made it together. I am not "withholding" children or grandchildren from anyone. There is an astonishing lack of understanding over the idea that it is an actual choice, to have a child or not. There is also an amazing lack of support, discussion and resources for those like me, that have made the choice. This is not a blog for kid-haters, or mocking people for having kids. It is a place where we can talk about living full lives, without kids, and without guilt.

Posted on April 2, 2012, in Movies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Sooo glad you love it! I think it’s an amazingly well done show. The production values and locations are spectacular. Lots of eye candy. The attention to detail in the sets and costuming are really good for a series as opposed to a film like LOTR. 🙂 I really enjoyed last night.

Leave a Reply

