Travel Tuesday: Passports

Application for U.S. PassportI was reminded several times last week about passports.  First, a funny story about one of the players on my hockey team showing up for the team flight and then remembering that he needed his passport cause the team was going to Canada.  And he almost missed the flight as he ran home to get his passport.

And then because we took a whirlwind trip last week.  And for about 8 years now, even before all of the new travel requirements, I have traveled with my passport as ID on any trip.  NO TSA ever questions a passport.  But drivers licenses can be confusing, especially out of state.

And then I realized that my passport will need to be renewed next year.  So I started wondering what that process looks like? Do I get a new picture?   I remember applying for my passport the first time.  Michael was “renewing” his at the same time.  Mine came WEEKS before his.  So why do renewals take so long?

Just remember that many countries will allow a US citizen in with just a drivers license and a birth certificate, but the US will not allow you back into the US without a passport. Even from Canada.  Or the Bahama’s.  Or Mexico.  Just something to think about if you are planning an impromptu trip anywhere.  Allow the proper lead time to get your passport.  They are good for 10 years and you won’t ever have to worry about coming through immigration again.

Apply online for a passport here.

About nfoste2245

I am approaching 40 and have been married since my early 20's. I have become more than a little frustrated with having to answer incredibly personal questions about my choice to not have children. It is apparently taboo to talk about religion and politics, but confronting me about my reproductive choices is fair game. It is not a choice I made alone, quickly or lightly. My husband and I made it together. I am not "withholding" children or grandchildren from anyone. There is an astonishing lack of understanding over the idea that it is an actual choice, to have a child or not. There is also an amazing lack of support, discussion and resources for those like me, that have made the choice. This is not a blog for kid-haters, or mocking people for having kids. It is a place where we can talk about living full lives, without kids, and without guilt.

Posted on March 27, 2012, in Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

