Sloth Sunday and Cleaning…

someecards.com - Karma - the gift just that keeps on giving.Today will be a sloth Sunday, although there is work to be done around the house and errands to run.

I have been exploring the concept of karma this weekend.  I was slapped in the face with an unbelievable lesson yesterday and wanted to know more. It is generally the concept that you get back what you put out there.

From eHow.com:  Karma is the energy that surrounds us and, depending on your actions, attitudes and outlook on life. It can be generally negative or positive. Those with negative karma will feel the consequences with agonizing situations, negativity, resentments and a feeling of bad luck or that the world is against you.

The article then lists several things that you can do to improve/cleanse your karma:

1. Be grateful

2. Act with love

3. Check your motives

4. Watch your attitude

5. Forgive

I think the first step in this is actually accepting that your own actions have something to do with the situation.  Bad things don’t always “just happen.”  Sometimes it is a lesson.  Karma will keep slapping you around until you learn the lesson it is trying to teach you.  Be open to the lessons as they are presented and things should turn around.

I hope.  And remember, sometimes your karma is impacting the people around you.

About nfoste2245

I am approaching 40 and have been married since my early 20's. I have become more than a little frustrated with having to answer incredibly personal questions about my choice to not have children. It is apparently taboo to talk about religion and politics, but confronting me about my reproductive choices is fair game. It is not a choice I made alone, quickly or lightly. My husband and I made it together. I am not "withholding" children or grandchildren from anyone. There is an astonishing lack of understanding over the idea that it is an actual choice, to have a child or not. There is also an amazing lack of support, discussion and resources for those like me, that have made the choice. This is not a blog for kid-haters, or mocking people for having kids. It is a place where we can talk about living full lives, without kids, and without guilt.

Posted on March 25, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. When creating Wicca, Gerald Gardner borrowed this concept and tweaked it, calling it the Law of Return. “What you put out comes back to you, threefold.”

    I believe in karma. But I also believe there is some level of randomness in the universe. Sometimes shit just happens. But I think that we do have much say in how smoothly our lives run. We have no control over others, death (other than the control we have over our general health, we’re all headed there), the economy (well more than we have in that if lots of individuals make changes, blah blah blah), etc. There is a saying that we make our own happiness and we make our own luck.

    I have definitely found that if I live my life trying to focus on what I have and what I am grateful for in my life, things overall tend to go more smoothly. When I focus mostly on the negative random things, feeling sorry for myself, I seem to draw more negative things.

    Of course how I treat others, engaging in idle gossip or character bashing (this doesn’t include politician bashing or celbriwanabes because I have to have one vice), also contributes in my opinion.

    some people take it all too far like anything else. I am a believer in dynamic balance in all things. I’m willing to take on some negative karma in certain situations…but mostly I do attempt to remain mindful of the karma I’m accumulating. Forgiveness is a tough one. I used to think it was about the person forgiven and sometimes it is, but often it is more about releasing OURSELVES from being stuck in whatever the offense was…from the continuing damage to our psyche.

    Interesting post. And damn that was a lot of philosophizing for a Monday morning. My head hurts. lol

  1. Pingback: Weekend Recap « The Kidless Kronicles

Leave a Reply

