Race Recap: Arizona Half Marathon

This is where we started.  It was a beautiful course.  Gorgeous scenery, rolling hills, well manned (for the size) water stops and big mileage markers.  The start time of 8:30 may have been a bit late for the weather, but this is unusually warm weather for this time of year in the Phoenix area.  They had plenty of water, apples, oranges and bagels, even for our late arrival at the finish.  It was a well run event.

My sister was there with me and we ran, we walked, we talked, and generally had a good time.  But the day was not what I had hoped for.  There are no excuses.  I finished the 13.1 miles.  Just not the way I had planned.  It was not my day.  And I am tired of over-analyzing and beating myself up for every bad run.  They have happened before and they will happen again.

I will say it was hot and I thought (at the time) that I was dehydrated.  I had G2 and added water from the water stops (bottled).  But in hindsight and more conversation, the issue may have actually be over-hydrating.  Either way, it wasn’t a great feeling.

The plain truth may be that I just don’t want to pay the price it takes (during the race) for PR’s.  Maybe it is something I can train for, feeling uncomfortable and pushing myself physically (and mentally).  Or this could have just been another bad run.  Right now I just don’t know.  I like races and might just drop the pressure of goals or PR’s.  Again, I can’t keep beating myself up or this just isn’t fun anymore.

So, as any runner does after a bad race, I ask myself what is next?  For right now, nothing.  Recovery.  Ask me again in a week.

About nfoste2245

I am approaching 40 and have been married since my early 20's. I have become more than a little frustrated with having to answer incredibly personal questions about my choice to not have children. It is apparently taboo to talk about religion and politics, but confronting me about my reproductive choices is fair game. It is not a choice I made alone, quickly or lightly. My husband and I made it together. I am not "withholding" children or grandchildren from anyone. There is an astonishing lack of understanding over the idea that it is an actual choice, to have a child or not. There is also an amazing lack of support, discussion and resources for those like me, that have made the choice. This is not a blog for kid-haters, or mocking people for having kids. It is a place where we can talk about living full lives, without kids, and without guilt.

Posted on February 26, 2012, in Fitness, Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. You finished, got sunshine and enjoyed being with your sister. Sounds like a success to me! Congratulations!

  1. Pingback: Regarding: Homecomings « The Kidless Kronicles

Leave a Reply

