Food Friday (and a Birthday): German Chocolate Cupcakes

Today is Michael’s birthday!  And one of his favorite things is German Chocolate Cake.  Now, I don’t want an entire cake hanging around the house, but cupcakes are ok!  Doesn’t make any sense since one batch of cupcakes is the same amount of cake as a cake, but whatever.

I found this recipe for German Chocolate Cupcakes.  The recipe uses a cake mix and adds both buttercream frosting and coconut frosting.  And after a quick trip to the store, was ready to go.  Sounded easy enough and I could get them done by the time he gets home later.  I love recipes that start with a boxed cake mix and enhance it.  I will say that I opted to eliminate the chocolate buttercream frosting.  The cupcakes sounded rich enough without adding.  If you try it, let me know how it is.

I mixed up the batter pretty quickly and split the cupcake batter into my 24 tins with some batter left over.  I don’t have any other cupcake pans so I added just a bit more to each cupcake.  And then my cupcakes overflowed a bit.  Nothing tragic. But it would actually make closer to 30 cupcakes.  I just don’t have that many pans.

The coconut pecan frosting is an exercise in stirring. I mixed this up while the cupcakes were baking.  I just kept stirring and stirring.   I stopped when it started to bubble and looked a bit like toffee.  Both the cupcakes and the coconut pecan frosting were ready around the same time.  And were able to cool together.  Good timing.

I frosted the cupcakes generously and they are looking FANTASTIC!

About nfoste2245

I am approaching 40 and have been married since my early 20's. I have become more than a little frustrated with having to answer incredibly personal questions about my choice to not have children. It is apparently taboo to talk about religion and politics, but confronting me about my reproductive choices is fair game. It is not a choice I made alone, quickly or lightly. My husband and I made it together. I am not "withholding" children or grandchildren from anyone. There is an astonishing lack of understanding over the idea that it is an actual choice, to have a child or not. There is also an amazing lack of support, discussion and resources for those like me, that have made the choice. This is not a blog for kid-haters, or mocking people for having kids. It is a place where we can talk about living full lives, without kids, and without guilt.

Posted on February 17, 2012, in Food/Restaurants and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

