Movie Review: Rise of the Planet of the Apes

Rise of the Planet of the Apes (2011) - IMDbMichael brought this home from the library on DVD.  And all I have to say is, someone owes me two hours….

From IMDB:  At the story’s heart is Caesar (Andy Serkis), a chimpanzee who gains human-like intelligence and emotions from an experimental drug. Raised like a child by the drug’s creator, Will Rodman (James Franco) and a primatologist Caroline Aranha (Freida Pinto), Caesar ultimately finds himself taken from the humans he loves and imprisoned in an ape sanctuary in San Bruno. Seeking justice for his fellow inmates, Caesar gives the fellow apes the same drug that he inherited. He then assembles a simian army and escapes the sanctuary – putting man and ape on a collision course that could change the planet forever. Written by emauger1

I thought it was pretty awful.  The beginning made me sad and the rest just made me mad.  Maybe because I was wasting time watching it.  Or maybe because the characters are too obtuse to see what they are really doing.  I mean, come on.  A chimp on a leash.  Stealing drugs to give to an ailing father.  A stereo-typical bad-boy chimp caretaker that gets what is coming to him.  It was a cliche of a movie that was predictable every step of the way.

And while we on the subject, a message to James Franco.  How do you make this AND 127 hours AND do stints on General Hospital and host the Oscars and expect all of them to be audience worthy? FOCUS, my friend.  I love that you have so many interests and pursue them all (including graduate school), but it doesn’t excuse bad decisions.

My rating: 2 Gummies (and this is generous)

 

About nfoste2245

I am approaching 40 and have been married since my early 20's. I have become more than a little frustrated with having to answer incredibly personal questions about my choice to not have children. It is apparently taboo to talk about religion and politics, but confronting me about my reproductive choices is fair game. It is not a choice I made alone, quickly or lightly. My husband and I made it together. I am not "withholding" children or grandchildren from anyone. There is an astonishing lack of understanding over the idea that it is an actual choice, to have a child or not. There is also an amazing lack of support, discussion and resources for those like me, that have made the choice. This is not a blog for kid-haters, or mocking people for having kids. It is a place where we can talk about living full lives, without kids, and without guilt.

Posted on February 13, 2012, in Movies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

