Movie Review Monday: Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy

Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy (2011) - IMDbMy new feature each Monday will be movie reviews.  We see LOTS of movies, both in the theater and on DVD or DirectTV.  So it is time to start sharing what I think.

I will sit through just about anything, especially if there is popcorn.  Except Avatar.  I never made it through Avatar.  I even love Horror.  Favorite movies range from any of the Transformer movies, to Julie and Julia and Devil Wears Prada, to Cold Mountain and the Descent.  I have a fondness for movies in which the world ends, like 2012 and Armageddon.  What can I say?

So I had heard good things about Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy.  And was surprised to find it playing even in our small market.  I dragged Michael with the promise of popcorn during and wings after.  Michael, being a librarian, had heard of the book and thought the subject matter would be interesting.   Gary Oldman scoring a Best Actor nod made it a must see.

Here is the synopsis from IMDB:  In the early 1970s during the Cold War, the head of British Intelligence, Control, resigns after an operation in Budapest, Hungary goes badly wrong. It transpires that Control believed one of four senior figures in the service was in fact a Russian agent – a mole – and the Hungary operation was an attempt to identify which of them it was. Smiley had been forced into retirement by the departure of Control, but is asked by a senior government figure to investigate a story told to him by a rogue agent, Ricky Tarr, that there was a mole. Smiley considers that the failure of the Hungary operation and the continuing success of Operation Witchcraft (an apparent source of significant Soviet intelligence) confirms this, and takes up the task of finding him. Through the efforts of Peter Guillam, Smiley obtains information that eventually leads him to Jim Prideaux, the agent at the heart of the Hungary fiasco. He is then able to put together the pieces of the puzzle, which lead him to the identity of the mole and the true intent of Operation Witchcraft. Written by David Brain

It was confusing, but part of the fun was talking about it over beer and wings later.  The acting was excellent, with a cast to rival any other.  It is a QUIET movie and there is a lot going on without a lot being said.  Michael and I bounced around different interpretations and theories about what was really going on, which to me shows that each viewer can take away something different.  I don’t think that reading the book would have been it more clear and enjoyed the movie for its own merits.  It is truly a drama and there are not a lot of (or any) action sequences in the film.

Watch the trailers on IMDB or Fandango for a good idea of the tone of the movie before you go.  The grab your Milk Duds, gummy bears and cough suppressant (me) and head to the theater.

My Rating (1-5 Gummy Bears) –

About nfoste2245

I am approaching 40 and have been married since my early 20's. I have become more than a little frustrated with having to answer incredibly personal questions about my choice to not have children. It is apparently taboo to talk about religion and politics, but confronting me about my reproductive choices is fair game. It is not a choice I made alone, quickly or lightly. My husband and I made it together. I am not "withholding" children or grandchildren from anyone. There is an astonishing lack of understanding over the idea that it is an actual choice, to have a child or not. There is also an amazing lack of support, discussion and resources for those like me, that have made the choice. This is not a blog for kid-haters, or mocking people for having kids. It is a place where we can talk about living full lives, without kids, and without guilt.

Posted on January 30, 2012, in Movies, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. hehe, love your gummy bear rating system! i do love me some gummy bears! and popcorn!!

Leave a Reply

