Regarding: Gifts

Push Gift Jewelry, Push Present Ideas & More Gifts for New Moms | GemvaraThe premise of this blog (is there one?) based on the title at least, is living a life childfree.  So these next few paragraphs could be offensive to those reading who do have children.  Or maybe not.

Push presents: I DO NOT, for the life of me, understand Push presents?  Isn’t the baby the gift?  Why do you need an extra present?  Henry Tudor gave his wives Push Presents (see history here).  Life and marriage (and jewels) if it was a boy.  An all-expense paid trip to the Tower of London (and beheading) if it was a girl.

If a baby and being a mother is SO rewarding, why do some expect a present for doing it?  If I want something, I buy it.  Don’t need the 18 yrs of no sleep, throwup and money troubles to go with it.  Seems more efficient that way.

And while I am at it (offending mothers), I feel the same way about mother’s day.  Every mother gets their own birthday.  Why a special day to be recognized for doing something you choose to do and is, by itself, so rewarding?  I am just asking.

Remember, cupid only gets one shot.  Although what he has to do with push presents, I have NO idea!

About nfoste2245

I am approaching 40 and have been married since my early 20's. I have become more than a little frustrated with having to answer incredibly personal questions about my choice to not have children. It is apparently taboo to talk about religion and politics, but confronting me about my reproductive choices is fair game. It is not a choice I made alone, quickly or lightly. My husband and I made it together. I am not "withholding" children or grandchildren from anyone. There is an astonishing lack of understanding over the idea that it is an actual choice, to have a child or not. There is also an amazing lack of support, discussion and resources for those like me, that have made the choice. This is not a blog for kid-haters, or mocking people for having kids. It is a place where we can talk about living full lives, without kids, and without guilt.

Posted on January 13, 2012, in Blogging, Rants and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I have never heard of Push presents before. I kind of get Mother’s Day because though they choose to have the children, a mother’s job is pretty much to give up much of her life to raise a child and give them everything they can to get off to the best start in life. My mom sacrificed more than normal for our happiness over her own. I don’t think she should have sacrificed her own in the ways she did, but it was selfless and we were better off in some ways for it. I like the idea of baby showers for impending mothers because it can be expensive to get started and friends often want to give gifts to celebrate the excitement of a new person entering their friend’s life and to help them in getting ready.

    But this idea of a push gift, I don’t really understand what it is.

  2. I am a proud Mom, and I totally agree with you. Push presents are ridiculous, and I refuse to celebrate Mother’s day.

    By the way, I completely respect your decision to not have children. Who is anyone to say what is right for anyone else? I have 2 friends that have chosen to not have kids and I value them dearly.

    • Thank you for your comments. And don’t get me started on paternity leave. Although I am sure that the help at home is appreciated in those first few weeks. Especially if there are other children running around.

Leave a Reply

