Travel Tuesday: Airport Parking

Raleigh-Durham International AirportWe have our trip coming up and I started thinking, how do other people park when they go to the airport?  Offsite parking and take a shuttle bus to the terminal because it is cheaper.  Have someone drive you and pick you up.  In bigger cities, you can take public transportation or a cab.

But here in NC, things haven’t changed that much in terms of airport parking.  At the airport closest to me, there is still METERED parking at the terminal.  If you are picking someone up, you can park right outside the door and meet them inside.  A quarter ($0.25) still buys you 15 minutes. There is no “offsite parking”. (Someone tried but the business closed)

Since we tend to fly from an airport that is an hour away, having someone drive us is not really an option.  But the long-term lot rates right at the terminal is still quite reasonable.  As you can see.  $10 a day for parking right at the terminal.

Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport – ParkingThen I looked up our destination city, Phoenix.  The equivalent was $25 a day.  I am not sure what the Economy Section is.  Maybe there is only 4 spots there.  No wonder people use offsite parking! And covered parking is at a premium.  Something to be said for being a little behind the times.

PS. For anyone that may need to park at the Phoenix Airport (Sky Harbor), there was a 40% off coupon on the website. I never would have thought to look for a coupon!

About nfoste2245

I am approaching 40 and have been married since my early 20's. I have become more than a little frustrated with having to answer incredibly personal questions about my choice to not have children. It is apparently taboo to talk about religion and politics, but confronting me about my reproductive choices is fair game. It is not a choice I made alone, quickly or lightly. My husband and I made it together. I am not "withholding" children or grandchildren from anyone. There is an astonishing lack of understanding over the idea that it is an actual choice, to have a child or not. There is also an amazing lack of support, discussion and resources for those like me, that have made the choice. This is not a blog for kid-haters, or mocking people for having kids. It is a place where we can talk about living full lives, without kids, and without guilt.

Posted on December 13, 2011, in Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

