Website Wednesday: Petfinder.com

Pet adoption: Want a dog or cat? Adopt a pet on PetfinderIt is website Wednesday (and WIAW) and I have been so wrapped up in finding airfare and searching for an alarm clock, that I hadn’t really thought of a good website review.  Black Friday is over so there is no sense reviewing the Black Friday websites that had all the ads weeks ago.  And no one but me really cares that much about an alarm clock.

So what to do….

As you may have seen yesterday, we are acting as a sort of halfway house for two cats that were found by our neighbors.  They were being taken care of and living at a sort of rundown barn/shack type thing.  But the people that were living nearby are gone and the place is abandoned.  Anyway, we have the two kittens until they go to their new, permanent home this weekend.

Which got me to thinking about our pets and how we came to have them.  Cats tend to find us.  But the dogs were a different story.  PETFINDER!  I am officially banned from Petfinder by Michael since it is how we came to have 2 dogs.

Petfinder lets you search your area by type of pet you want to adopt, breed, gender, age, any or all of the above.  Local shelters, foster programs and rescue groups will post their available pets there along with history, photo’s, contact info, etc.  It is how I found Annabelle and how I found Solo.

If you have room in your home, and heart, for a pet and are looking to adopt, this is a great resource for narrowing down your search.  I always advocate adopting an older pet if you can, since the small, young, cute ones are always the first to go.  Shelters and foster programs are bursting at the seams right now with pets that were surrendered due to job loss, the economy, etc.  If you have the resources, please consider adopting a new family member this holiday season.

That is my public service announcement.

About nfoste2245

I am approaching 40 and have been married since my early 20's. I have become more than a little frustrated with having to answer incredibly personal questions about my choice to not have children. It is apparently taboo to talk about religion and politics, but confronting me about my reproductive choices is fair game. It is not a choice I made alone, quickly or lightly. My husband and I made it together. I am not "withholding" children or grandchildren from anyone. There is an astonishing lack of understanding over the idea that it is an actual choice, to have a child or not. There is also an amazing lack of support, discussion and resources for those like me, that have made the choice. This is not a blog for kid-haters, or mocking people for having kids. It is a place where we can talk about living full lives, without kids, and without guilt.

Posted on November 30, 2011, in Dogs, Websites and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

