Food Friday: Thanksgiving Menu

someecards.com - It's great seeing you a few times a yearWith the holidays literally around the corner, I won’t be baking anything this weekend (except that apple bread pudding from Costco that is in the fridge…don’t judge me, I need the space).  So I thought we could talk about Thanksgiving menu’s.

A few years back, I took over the burden of making Thanksgiving dinner for my in-laws.  It was a hostile takeover that I had been planning for years.  My MIL is not a very good cook (not being mean, some things are just true), and thinks that “from scratch” is too much trouble.  Since I actually enjoy baking and don’t mind cooking, it made sense to start doing it at our house.  My husband was thrilled.

The day starts out with a run (how could it not!).  And then the neighbors come over for Bloody Mary’s while we watch the end of the parade and the beginning of the dog show.  And then we start with the wine.  Oh wait, there is actual food on the menu.

My menu is somewhat different than what I grew up with, which makes sense.  The typical turkey, stuffing, potatoes and gravy.  And did I mention there would be wine? And then last year I found a killer Green Bean Casserole recipe here.  And this year, I am adding a Sweet Potato Casserole from here.  I am going to prep both of these the day before and then just add the topping and put in the oven on Thursday.

Desserts have varied over the years with one exception, there is always something apple and they are mostly made from scratch (I don’t make pie crust).  This year is a toss up between Apple Crisp and Apple Crumb Pie.  One year I tried Pumpkin Cheesecake but that didn’t go over too well.  Too “outside the box” for this crowd.  Last year was Pumpkin Pie and Pecan Pie.  That worked.  I am trying this Pumpkin Pie recipe this year and leaving out the pecan.

So that is the plan.  The turkey is already in the fridge (jumped on the sale at the grocery store) and mostly everything else is bought and waiting.  Preparation will happen all day Wednesday.  We have a hockey game Wednesday night.  And then I will run with good friend J on Thursday morning before everything gets going!

What are your plans? Any go-to recipes I can steal?

About nfoste2245

I am approaching 40 and have been married since my early 20's. I have become more than a little frustrated with having to answer incredibly personal questions about my choice to not have children. It is apparently taboo to talk about religion and politics, but confronting me about my reproductive choices is fair game. It is not a choice I made alone, quickly or lightly. My husband and I made it together. I am not "withholding" children or grandchildren from anyone. There is an astonishing lack of understanding over the idea that it is an actual choice, to have a child or not. There is also an amazing lack of support, discussion and resources for those like me, that have made the choice. This is not a blog for kid-haters, or mocking people for having kids. It is a place where we can talk about living full lives, without kids, and without guilt.

Posted on November 18, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. 3 years ago I attempted a T-day takeover from my mom. She is an alright cook, but I’m definitely better, and she’s admitted that. However, her pride was bigger than I thought and we had to compromise—I make the turkey since all meat she cooks ends up dry and chewy, and she still has full control over all the sides. Looks like my takeover is a work in progress 😉 That’s ok though, because she really does make kick-ass mashed potatoes that I have yet to match. Last year I made a layered pumpkin cheesecake that had everyone skeptical until they tried it. The fam voted on making it a staple…if you’re curious, here is the recipe: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/double-layer-pumpkin-cheesecake-2/detail.aspx You can tuck it away for a non-family gathering where other people might appreciate something a little different.
    Also, here is a disasterously unhealthy but wickedly delicious broccoli-cheese casserole that we only eat at Thanksgiving (yes, it is that bad for you! ha) I jokingly call it “white trash broccoli” but it really is something I look forward to all year!
    Spray a 9×9 baking dish with PAM. Pour in a bag of frozen broccoli florets. Cube up 1/2 a block of velvetta cheese (only velvetta! tried to “health-it-up” one year with cheddar and it tasted like shit) and mix in with the broccoli. Crush up a sleeve of Ritz crackers and sprinkle those bad boys over the casserole. Dot the top with little butter cubes. Bake at 350 for about 25-30 minutes, until the cheese is all bubbly and the cracker crumbs start turning a dark brown. Let go of your shame, and devour that once-a-year cheesy goodness. Velveeta really is backwoods gold… haha!
    There will be 13 at my parents’ house this year–mix of family and friends. How many are coming to yours?

Leave a Reply

