Regarding: Friends

someecards.com - You're one of the few friends I enjoy being with more in person than on Facebook.The topic of friends has been brought up several times recently.  And there seem to be some differing opinions on what makes a friends and how friends are treated.  I can only put out there my own views on the subject.

A friend, to me, is someone I would invite into my home, cook or bake for, and know what it is going on their immediate past and future.  I know their family and kids, about their work, and their struggles.  They would be included to celebrate special occasions like birthdays, holidays, even Christmas.  We talk on a constant basis.  They are NOT my Facebook friends.  Most other people are acquaintances.

I have more than my share of opinions (on a wide variety of topics) and, as most of my FRIENDS would tell you, have trouble keeping them to myself.  I lack a filter.  But a friend is someone you feel somewhat save spewing your opinions to, even if you know they won’t agree.  I don’t necessarily apologize for my opinions, but I will apologize for how I express them.  Which isn’t always the most eloquently.

If you are sharing yourself honestly with your friends, you are bound to piss them off or offend them from time to time.  Good friends work through it.  They talk about it.  Sometimes, being honest with a friend has a price.  But your friends are the ones you look to (or should) for honesty.  Even when it isn’t what you want to hear.

I was told I need to stop pissing off my friends.  I would ask, are you really my friend if I have never pissed you off?

About nfoste2245

I am approaching 40 and have been married since my early 20's. I have become more than a little frustrated with having to answer incredibly personal questions about my choice to not have children. It is apparently taboo to talk about religion and politics, but confronting me about my reproductive choices is fair game. It is not a choice I made alone, quickly or lightly. My husband and I made it together. I am not "withholding" children or grandchildren from anyone. There is an astonishing lack of understanding over the idea that it is an actual choice, to have a child or not. There is also an amazing lack of support, discussion and resources for those like me, that have made the choice. This is not a blog for kid-haters, or mocking people for having kids. It is a place where we can talk about living full lives, without kids, and without guilt.

Posted on November 17, 2011, in Blogging and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

