Regarding: Halloween Tradition

My husband LOVES Halloween.  Has anyone spotted his Disney Haunted Mansion in the decorating pictures?  He carried that thing through the Magic Kingdom for hours.  Anyway, cancelling Halloween, as I might suggest, is not an option.  So we had to come up with a compromise.

The doorbell drives the dogs INSANE.  And I don’t particularly like handing out candy (or most kids).  So I have to be bribed.  Pretty easy to do.  The cost?  Pizza and Beer.

We setup a card table in the driveway and sit there with our candy, pizza and beer.  The doorbell never rings, the dogs stay (mostly) calm.  And I get to drink beer in the driveway, to the envy of all our (male) neighbors.

It works for us.

We had a guest with us as well.  The neighbors cat, Meow Meow, has decided that she likes our treats better than her own house.  I don’t even know if she is ever let inside her house.  Or given treats.  But she hung out with us for quite a while.  She is welcome anytime.  She is the Queen of the Cul de Sac.

About nfoste2245

I am approaching 40 and have been married since my early 20's. I have become more than a little frustrated with having to answer incredibly personal questions about my choice to not have children. It is apparently taboo to talk about religion and politics, but confronting me about my reproductive choices is fair game. It is not a choice I made alone, quickly or lightly. My husband and I made it together. I am not "withholding" children or grandchildren from anyone. There is an astonishing lack of understanding over the idea that it is an actual choice, to have a child or not. There is also an amazing lack of support, discussion and resources for those like me, that have made the choice. This is not a blog for kid-haters, or mocking people for having kids. It is a place where we can talk about living full lives, without kids, and without guilt.

Posted on November 1, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Found you via Jenn’s WIAW. This is a really good idea! I might try that next year with my husband. (This year, my husband was away. It would probably be boring to sit out alone.) I caged my dog in the dining room using a long bench that he could see over. Luckily, I’ve been tutoring for a few months, so he’s gotten very used to kids coming to the door and showering him with love. So – for the first time – he spent the whole evening wagging his tail, staring, and whining softly, instead of barking his head off. What really gets him, though, are the Halloween fireworks. Who decided that it was a good idea to start a tradition of fireworks when there are masked kids running around in the dark all night?

    • Don’t get me started on the fireworks. Our neighbor lit some off a while back and the dog was terrified. When I leaned over to comfort her, she jumped up and caught me right in the face. Nerve and sinus damage. Luckily she didn’t break my nose. But it took MONTHS to get the feeling back on the right side of my face. No joke.

  2. That sounds like fun! I wish we got kids trick-or-treating here. Drinking beer outside while the world passes by sounds like fun! Sorry you had a shit work day, though.

Leave a Reply

