Regarding: Crack

I am constantly in search of new dog toys.  Toys that will continue to squeak, amuse, and entertain.  I found this toy recently at PetsMart (or you can find it here at Amazon).  The nice young kid behind the counter said I could bring it back anytime if they didn’t like it.

Can you see what it says on the package?  It says “Mental Stimulation”.  The idea is that you put treats or kibble in the middle and the dogs work to get the food out.  When I first gave these to the dogs, I added some kibble to them and let them go.  Annabelle had no trouble getting the food out and having a good time.  For Solo, the mental stimulation seemed to prove too much and he gave up after just a few minutes.

Add in over 24 hours of rain and Solo was downright bored and unbearable yesterday.  The barking started about 12:45.  I couldn’t get it to stop.  I found the balls and added the kibble.  Annabelle went to work and Solo kept barking.

Until…….

I added dog crack.  Or in our case,  ANIMAL CRACKERS.  Yup, just plain, old Stauffers Animal Crackers.  Solo has never worked so hard for anything in his life.  And I felt bad, seeing him struggle between wanting the crack(ers) and the mental challenge being almost too much for him.  But he kept at it.  For over an hour.

And I didn’t hear a single bark for over 3 hours.  VICTORY.  And dog crack.

 

About nfoste2245

I am approaching 40 and have been married since my early 20's. I have become more than a little frustrated with having to answer incredibly personal questions about my choice to not have children. It is apparently taboo to talk about religion and politics, but confronting me about my reproductive choices is fair game. It is not a choice I made alone, quickly or lightly. My husband and I made it together. I am not "withholding" children or grandchildren from anyone. There is an astonishing lack of understanding over the idea that it is an actual choice, to have a child or not. There is also an amazing lack of support, discussion and resources for those like me, that have made the choice. This is not a blog for kid-haters, or mocking people for having kids. It is a place where we can talk about living full lives, without kids, and without guilt.

Posted on October 20, 2011, in Annabelle, Dogs, Solo and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. lol We bought something similar I think at Petsmart over the summer. It’s a red ball you put kibble or treats in and they roll it around to get the treats out. Bacchus, just like with the really neat wooden treat puzzles my friend sent us from Sweden, was enthralled, figured it out and had a blast. Wunjo seemed frustrated, then he gave up. I honestly think Wunjo is just lazy. He doesn’t bark incessantly, though. Only for a minute or two when they think something is outside that doesn’t belong there…like when a squirrel is mocking him at the window. lol

    Glad you found something that works in combo. I think animal crackers are a great idea.

  1. Pingback: Featured Product: Treat Dispensing Chewball « The Kidless Kronicles

Leave a Reply

