Travel Tueday: Modes of Travel

Today I want to talk about modes of travel.  There are:  Plane, Train, Car, Boat and I would even say, Foot.

Aeroplane - Thomas CookPlane is by far my transportation of choice.  Anything over 4 hours away calls for a plane ticket.  It is fast, efficient, can be cheap (depending on where you are going) and I am fascinated with people watching in airports. Sometimes you can multitask in the airport and get some shopping done or even get a manicure.  With WiFi everywhere now, you can work or surf.  I usually plan ahead and bring my own snacks (I ALWAYS have snacks on me).

Amtrak train IMG_2279I have been on a train.  Many years ago.  One LONG train ride from Boston to Syracuse and back. And again from NYC to DC for business.   The actual traveling was fun, but there were delays and issues, in both trips now that I think about it.  The choices for food are limited to the snack/dining car and you were basically a hostage on the train.  No shopping, not much to look at, no walking around.  And with the delays and stops, not a very expedient way to travel.  Although these days, there is the Accela and the trains have Wi-Fi and people tend to use them for business travel in the Northeast.

Car is my LEAST favorite mode of transportation for anything over 4 hours.  Mainly because I get a lot of grief for sleeping though the whole thing.  And because it is BORING, I can’t read (nausea), and no one else drives as fast as I think they should.  That is why I sleep.  Local trips, meaning one stop or less, are fine.  But in most cases, I just want to get where I am going and the fastest way to do that is usually to fly.  Anything within driving distance of here I have seen already.  Let’s go somewhere more interesting.  Now, the one plus to driving is you don’t have to worry about the weight of your suitcase, how much you packed or bringing liquids through security.  I did drive 6 hours to Alabama recently and had a good time.

Cruise Ship at Port of MiamiI know people who LIVE and DIE by the cruise ship.  There are maybe 3 cruises I would ever consider taking:  Panama Canal, Alaska and the Med.  That is it. Otherwise, I have NO desire to be stuck on a ship, wandering around in the middle of the ocean, and never really getting anywhere.  I like to have a destination, get to it, and plant my ass in a beach chair with a cold drink.

I am not even sure why I mentioned Foot.  You can’t walk anywhere from here.  Except to the mailbox.  If I have taken one of the other modes of transportation to a big city, I am MORE than happy to walk anywhere and everywhere.  I would love to live somewhere where I could walk to the store, the gym, the park, wherever.  But that definitely isn’t here.

About nfoste2245

I am approaching 40 and have been married since my early 20's. I have become more than a little frustrated with having to answer incredibly personal questions about my choice to not have children. It is apparently taboo to talk about religion and politics, but confronting me about my reproductive choices is fair game. It is not a choice I made alone, quickly or lightly. My husband and I made it together. I am not "withholding" children or grandchildren from anyone. There is an astonishing lack of understanding over the idea that it is an actual choice, to have a child or not. There is also an amazing lack of support, discussion and resources for those like me, that have made the choice. This is not a blog for kid-haters, or mocking people for having kids. It is a place where we can talk about living full lives, without kids, and without guilt.

Posted on October 18, 2011, in Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I think I prefer planes but that’s because I have only ever taken a plane to a sunny tropical destination so the association with them is very positive 🙂

    I feel fortunate that I can get a lot of place by foot here in Toronto

  2. I’ve gotten tired of flying. It’s such a flippin’ hassle these days. There will be a LOT of driving in my future. We’ve set a 5 hour limit for festivals. The only exception being Rhinebeck. If I can get in at Rhinebeck, I will happily drive the 6+ hours to get there.

Leave a Reply

