Regarding: LONG post, SLOW run

It occurred to me recently that I don’t really talk all that much on here about my running.  Which seems odd, considering what a big part of my life it is.  If I am not actually running, I am thinking about running.  Or thinking about what will affect my running.  Or how to fuel for a run (it is a given that I am also thinking about food all the time).  Or how to recover from a run.  So it seems like a good time to start talking more about it.

I started running in 2006 when my best friend and I trained and ran the Race for the Cure 5k.  And we had a GREAT time at the race.  But I didn’t get bit by the running bug then.  It just didn’t seem to stick.

So fast forward almost 2 years to the early months of 2008.  I have NO idea why, but I decided that running a half marathon would be fun.  I was doing a lot of walking with some running intervals thrown in.  But nothing hard core.  ONE 5k under my belt to that point (not including charity type walks) So I discovered John the Penguin’s running programs and off I went to train for a fall race.

THAT is when it stuck.  I have now completed 8 half marathons and various other 5k’s and 10k’s.  Some of those you have already heard about.

My running personality is that of a TURTLE.  I take the SLOW part of Long Slow Run seriously.  I did experience a stress fracture at the end of 2008, most likely from trying to increase my pace too fast  So SLOW I GO.  I also tend to train really well.  I love a schedule, routine, crossing things off a plan.  I say I train well, that doesn’t mean I race well.  But I enjoy the training process so I continue to train for events and always have something on the horizon.

I am currently about 2/3’s of the way through training for a Half on 11/13.  Training is going VERY well.  I took a Jeff Galloway plan (here) and modified it a bit to fit what I needed (added an extra long run, switched up the days a bit).  I am also a BIG fan of McMillan Running (here) and follow his pace guidelines for different kinds of runs.  I run as many as 5 days a week, one day with my trainer and one complete rest day.   My weekly mileage is anywhere from 12-24 miles a week and my daily runs are no less than 3 miles up to my longest run of 14 miles.

I run in Nike’s (it works for me), with a Garmin 305 and a Nathan Water Bottle.  G2 is my drink of choice (TMI, but I am a salty sweater). And I don’t usually use Gu’s or gels but if I did, I am a fan of the Sport Beans.  You can see my RAVE review of my sock choice here.

About nfoste2245

I am approaching 40 and have been married since my early 20's. I have become more than a little frustrated with having to answer incredibly personal questions about my choice to not have children. It is apparently taboo to talk about religion and politics, but confronting me about my reproductive choices is fair game. It is not a choice I made alone, quickly or lightly. My husband and I made it together. I am not "withholding" children or grandchildren from anyone. There is an astonishing lack of understanding over the idea that it is an actual choice, to have a child or not. There is also an amazing lack of support, discussion and resources for those like me, that have made the choice. This is not a blog for kid-haters, or mocking people for having kids. It is a place where we can talk about living full lives, without kids, and without guilt.

Posted on October 18, 2011, in Blogging, Running, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

