Travel Tuesday: Boston

It is hard for me to consider Boston “travel” since I grew up about 20 minutes north of the city but we went there for a visit this past June.  In fact, we coordinated a gathering of other “childfree by choice” people that I had met back in 2001. Some lived in the area and others traveled in like us.

Our rally point was the cathedral of Boston, Fenway Park.  Where we saw an amazing 14 inning game against Oakland.  Of course we met for beer and food first at Boston BeerWorks.

Michael and I stayed at the Millenium, across the street from Faneuil Hall.  A sort of late birthday splurge.  It is also a short walk from the North End and the Aquarium.    We just happened to be there the day after Sarah Palin made a visit and, while standing in front of the Paul Revere House, told everyone that he rode a horse with a lantern, while ringing a bell and shooting a musket to warn the BRITISH.  It was AWESOME. And if you want to see  a funny clip, look up Steven Colbert and what he did with the topic.

We did the Freedom Trail (Michael’s idea), the Aquarium (me, I LOVE the penguins), the Pru, Fenway, saw the new Garden (Bruins were in the playoffs).The group split up for various activities.  Some wanted to spend time in Salem.  We wanted to spend our time in Boston.  But it was great and everyone got to see everything they wanted.  I didn’t take a lot of pictures.  I don’t know why.But I cheated and some of these are from an older trip we took in 2005, for my cousins wedding.

 

About nfoste2245

I am approaching 40 and have been married since my early 20's. I have become more than a little frustrated with having to answer incredibly personal questions about my choice to not have children. It is apparently taboo to talk about religion and politics, but confronting me about my reproductive choices is fair game. It is not a choice I made alone, quickly or lightly. My husband and I made it together. I am not "withholding" children or grandchildren from anyone. There is an astonishing lack of understanding over the idea that it is an actual choice, to have a child or not. There is also an amazing lack of support, discussion and resources for those like me, that have made the choice. This is not a blog for kid-haters, or mocking people for having kids. It is a place where we can talk about living full lives, without kids, and without guilt.

Posted on October 11, 2011, in Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. It was so much fun, Nicole! It was a little intimidating being in the “enemy” camp (Yankee fan), but I loved getting to see historic Fenway Park and spend some time in Boston, which is a city I really love. I think if I had a choice of living in any city in the U.S. other than NYC, Boston would be my first choice, then probably San Francisco.

    I always forget to take photos at things because I’m too busy having a good time lol So you’re not alone. 🙂

    I’m glad you guys had a good visit back “home” for you.

Leave a Reply

