Regarding: Limits

DUDE SERIOUSLY WHY AM I WETDo you know what your limits are?

I do.  And one of them involves rain.  I DON’T race in the rain.  I don’t run in the rain.  Whatever you think about that is fine with me.  It is my limit and only I have to be ok with it.

I have lots of BS reasons for not running in the rain, but mainly it is because it isn’t fun.  I want to do as much as I can to ensure that my runs are fun.  And being wet and clothed and cold and cranky is not fun.

So, tomorrows 10k/7mile race is in doubt for me because it is pouring rain with no sign of stopping.

And it is a trail race.  The ONE thing that could motivate me to run is the prospect of ruining my shoes.  Which would mean NEW SHOES.  But I don’t think it is enough to overcome the limits.

And I don’t want to look like that guy.

About nfoste2245

I am approaching 40 and have been married since my early 20's. I have become more than a little frustrated with having to answer incredibly personal questions about my choice to not have children. It is apparently taboo to talk about religion and politics, but confronting me about my reproductive choices is fair game. It is not a choice I made alone, quickly or lightly. My husband and I made it together. I am not "withholding" children or grandchildren from anyone. There is an astonishing lack of understanding over the idea that it is an actual choice, to have a child or not. There is also an amazing lack of support, discussion and resources for those like me, that have made the choice. This is not a blog for kid-haters, or mocking people for having kids. It is a place where we can talk about living full lives, without kids, and without guilt.

Posted on September 23, 2011, in Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I don’t blame you. I’m nowhere near as devoted a runner as you, but when I am training for something, I don’t run outside in the rain…period. Life’s too short and I HATE being soaking wet unless I”m in a bathing suit and at the beach or pool. lol I hope it clears up, but if it doesn’t, that sounds like a healthy boundary to me.

    I get when people who are doing the NYC Marathon or something they’ve worked really hard for that is a once in a lifetime thing still do it in the rain, but in general…..meh.

Leave a Reply

