Regarding: Feedback

I am a little bit of a freak when it comes to working out.  First, there are some days that I work out twice.  Its not necessarily that I feel I HAVE to or anything.  But I like to run in the mornings and Michael likes to go to the gym at night. So rather than sit at home alone and mindlessly eat, I go back to the gym. Second, it all revolves around running and race times.  If it doesn’t support and help my chip time, I am not interested.  Third, I need feedback.

WCCF Kettle Bells Once a week, I work out with torture trainer Victor.  I like Victor.  He is very nice.  But I tend to need more “feedback” than he offers.  So once in a while, I ask.  Am I working hard enough?  What else should I be doing? So I asked him this morning, Am I working hard enough?  He rolled his eyes and gave me a face.  Yes, you are working hard enough.  You are getting stronger, I keep adding weight.  Then he told me he needs to be careful not to work me too hard. What else should I be doing?  (this one came out as a yelp I think as he was stretching me at the end).  His answer, shockingly, stretch more.

It made me feel better.  I have serious DOMS so I don’t really “feel” our workouts for 36 hours.  But MAN, do I feel them then.  So I think I am working hard enough. But it is nice to hear it from someone else once in a while.

About nfoste2245

I am approaching 40 and have been married since my early 20's. I have become more than a little frustrated with having to answer incredibly personal questions about my choice to not have children. It is apparently taboo to talk about religion and politics, but confronting me about my reproductive choices is fair game. It is not a choice I made alone, quickly or lightly. My husband and I made it together. I am not "withholding" children or grandchildren from anyone. There is an astonishing lack of understanding over the idea that it is an actual choice, to have a child or not. There is also an amazing lack of support, discussion and resources for those like me, that have made the choice. This is not a blog for kid-haters, or mocking people for having kids. It is a place where we can talk about living full lives, without kids, and without guilt.

Posted on September 21, 2011, in Blogging, Running, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. What are DOMS, Nicole? Do you just strength train once a week or do you do a second session on your own? I would love to work wtih a trainer one of these days….once Larry is working again, I think I might buy some sessions. But I feel like my Beachbody DVDs act as a trainer even though I’m not getting the feedback other than the fact that I can do more full push-ups and I’m lifting significantly more weight with good form.

    Anyway, great post..and your gym has a great sign.

    • I meant to respond to this before. DOMS. Delayed onset muscle soreness. Mine window is 36 hours. Another friend mentioned hers was 48 hours. Just have to know what it is and factor it in. I strength train several times a week. Whatever Victor does with me in our session, I try to do at least one more time in the week if not two. And I add in arms, back, and abs just for fun. Just depends on my long run schedule.

Leave a Reply

