Regarding: Vitamins

I have no idea why anyone will find the following interesting.  Keep in mind I write about whatever weird thing pops into my head when I first get up. But here it goes.

This is what I take every morning (with crystal light fruit punch) right before my coffee in the grumpy mug.  I am not sure I could even tell you what they all are at this point.  That’s a lie, yes I can.

It is a a GNC Vitapak program (Women’s Active) and I have been taking it about 3 yrs or more.  There are two multi-vitamin, two energy, CLA, L-Carnitine and calcium.  Then I add my Allegra-D and two more Viactiv calcium chews.

The only proof I have that this makes me healthier is that I think it makes me healthier.  I haven’t been actually sick more than probably once in the entire time I have been taking these.  Usually my “sick” is allergy related (or getting bit by a snarky spider).  So even if the proof is in my head, isn’t that good enough?

Any runner will tell you that the mental battles we fight are everything.  Something “works” if we think it works.  We can talk ourselves into, or out of, anything.  So I use that when it comes to my vitamins as well.  As long as I think it works, then it works.  I don’t claim I have “the flu” every year (rarely do people actually have the flu), I don’t get a flu shot, and I don’t go running to the doctor for antibiotics for every sneeze and sniffle (z-packs are ruining our immune systems).

They are expensive.  I am not necessarily endorsing GNC except for convenience.  I love that they come in a little pack for me and are easy to pack when we travel.  One week a month, they are 20% off or BOGO.  And even better, I found them at Sam’s for less than half price.  AND CLEANED THEM OUT.  How could I not?

PS. I did show all of this to my Dr (ex-military who runs marathons) and he said we could debate the benefits all day, but nothing in there would hurt me.  So if I thought it helped, keep taking them.

About nfoste2245

I am approaching 40 and have been married since my early 20's. I have become more than a little frustrated with having to answer incredibly personal questions about my choice to not have children. It is apparently taboo to talk about religion and politics, but confronting me about my reproductive choices is fair game. It is not a choice I made alone, quickly or lightly. My husband and I made it together. I am not "withholding" children or grandchildren from anyone. There is an astonishing lack of understanding over the idea that it is an actual choice, to have a child or not. There is also an amazing lack of support, discussion and resources for those like me, that have made the choice. This is not a blog for kid-haters, or mocking people for having kids. It is a place where we can talk about living full lives, without kids, and without guilt.

Posted on September 1, 2011, in Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

