Regarding: In Vino Veritas

Writing this post after an afternoon of Mimosa’s (see yesterdays post here) is probably not the brightest idea.  But In Vino Veritas. My sister (who reads this) was lucky enough to experience my last In Vino Veritas moment after sharing a bottle of vodka .  It wasn’t pretty.  Ok, we didn’t really share it.  I think I had more than my fair share.  But still.

Those close to me know that I have been in major career crisis this past year or so.  This really has been centered on work and the people in my life have been exceptionally supportive and helpful, including my husband, my sister and my best friend. What happened to get me to this point probably doesn’t really matter except to say that I learned to listen to myself and not so many others.The result has been to really make me think about what I would WANT to do as a career if given the chance to do anything.  I haven’t even come close to answering that question, but this blog is a piece of that puzzle.

I started thinking about what I LIKED to do until I had to “grow up” and get health insurance.  I have the health insurance, but (as I am sure many can relate) it has become a question of money, comfort, position etc.  What am I willing to give up to find some sort of happiness (I would settle for not miserable) in my job?  Salary? Work arrangements (I work from home full-time)? Freedom (my schedule is flexible as long as my work is done and partners are taken care of)?  And what would I enjoy doing that wouldn’t take something I like and twist it into a job?

So as I start to explore some of the things I used to enjoy, I need to keep asking these questions and figure out the answers.  I remember I liked working with computers.  And I liked writing once.  So I have been exploring the world of blogging.  I am thinking about taking a web design class, etc.  Just to get a taste for it and see if it is worth pursuing.  You don’t know until you try.

WAY too heavy for a Monday morning.  Fun stuff to come later today!

About nfoste2245

I am approaching 40 and have been married since my early 20's. I have become more than a little frustrated with having to answer incredibly personal questions about my choice to not have children. It is apparently taboo to talk about religion and politics, but confronting me about my reproductive choices is fair game. It is not a choice I made alone, quickly or lightly. My husband and I made it together. I am not "withholding" children or grandchildren from anyone. There is an astonishing lack of understanding over the idea that it is an actual choice, to have a child or not. There is also an amazing lack of support, discussion and resources for those like me, that have made the choice. This is not a blog for kid-haters, or mocking people for having kids. It is a place where we can talk about living full lives, without kids, and without guilt.

Posted on August 29, 2011, in Uncategorized, Work and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I think lots of us go through this at this point. Maybe not to the crisis stage, but to one degree or another. I’m glad you’re exploring your bliss and what will make you happy. What happened to that potential opportunity you were talking about in e-mail a few weeks ago?

    • It just hasn’t happened yet and we don’t know what the hold-up is. But as soon as he is allowed to hire, I plan on moving back to working for my old boss. Its been one, long waiting game. But it still gives me time to explore some other areas. Our local Tech Community College has some great online options that are affordable and don’t require working towards a degree.

Leave a Reply

