Regarding: PF Chang’s

PF Chang's by boutmuetWe went out to dinner the other night at PF Chang’s.  I had been wanting to go for a while.  Combine that with an underwhelming desire and motivation to cook, and off we went. While we were enjoying our “dinner for two”, a family came in and sat behind us.  They had two small children, maybe 4 and 8 months old. I could hear the father saying things like, “do you need to go to the bathroom?  Are you sure?”  The older kid wouldn’t sit still and the father took him off to the bathroom (I assume).
Anyway, we were enjoying our dinner very much and they were not a bother at all.  But before we knew it, we looked behind us and they were gone.  There was no way they had time to order, eat, pay and leave. So what had happened?  Michael commented that maybe someone had misbehaved and they got up and left.  He was amazed that a family would have ditched dinner due to bad behavior so quickly.  It is more often that we see parents trying to manage bad behavior in the restaurant so that they (the parents) can have a meal out.
We finished up and gathered our things to leave.  Outside, we ran into the family again, carrying huge to-go bags and letting the older child play on the big horse statue.  Nothing seemed wrong or out of order.  No one seemed to be misbehaving or in trouble.
PF Chang’s does not seem to me to be an overly kid-friendly menu.  It doesn’t cater to kids, although I am sure it has some sort of small kids section on the menu (I didn’t look).  I am always impressed when I see parents that are monitoring their kids moods and behavior,and are willing to take whatever steps necessary to not interrupt the experience of the people around them, even if it means sacrificing their own dinner and night out.  Thank you.
PF Chang’s, a photo by boutmuet on Flickr.
About nfoste2245

I am approaching 40 and have been married since my early 20's. I have become more than a little frustrated with having to answer incredibly personal questions about my choice to not have children. It is apparently taboo to talk about religion and politics, but confronting me about my reproductive choices is fair game. It is not a choice I made alone, quickly or lightly. My husband and I made it together. I am not "withholding" children or grandchildren from anyone. There is an astonishing lack of understanding over the idea that it is an actual choice, to have a child or not. There is also an amazing lack of support, discussion and resources for those like me, that have made the choice. This is not a blog for kid-haters, or mocking people for having kids. It is a place where we can talk about living full lives, without kids, and without guilt.

Posted on August 13, 2011, in Food/Restaurants, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

