Regarding Baby Showers….

This weekend, I will attend my first baby shower in 10+ years.  Make no mistake, I am THRILLED that these wonderful people are having a baby.  I can think of few couples that are more deserving.  But being invited to a baby shower means finding a baby gift.  Gift registries have made this much less of a guessing game.  Or so I thought.

As I was wandering through the gift registries online and browsing the items,  I thought  WTF is this stuff?  Except for a few items of clothing, some bottles and a bouncy seat, I have no freaking clue what most of this stuff is.  How do I put together a decent gift basket if I don’t know what goes with what?  I am likely to leave out some key piece of puzzle, like trying to complete a jigsaw puzzle without having seen the picture first.

I can’t wait to actually meet the baby, sometime in late September.  So I can hold it, play with it, shake it up and hand it back.  I am mostly kidding.  But it does give me another kid-fix without making the commitment myself.  Going to a baby shower, for me, is like watching someone get botox.  I want to observe and even can’t look away, but it is an actual experience that I want no part of myself.

About nfoste2245

I am approaching 40 and have been married since my early 20's. I have become more than a little frustrated with having to answer incredibly personal questions about my choice to not have children. It is apparently taboo to talk about religion and politics, but confronting me about my reproductive choices is fair game. It is not a choice I made alone, quickly or lightly. My husband and I made it together. I am not "withholding" children or grandchildren from anyone. There is an astonishing lack of understanding over the idea that it is an actual choice, to have a child or not. There is also an amazing lack of support, discussion and resources for those like me, that have made the choice. This is not a blog for kid-haters, or mocking people for having kids. It is a place where we can talk about living full lives, without kids, and without guilt.

Posted on August 10, 2011, in Shopping and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

