Regarding Calendars…

There are quite a few calendars that are important to me.  The Red Sox-Yankee’s calendar.  The Costco coupons calendar.  The 2011-2012 Carolina Hurricanes Calendar.  The when-do-we-get-paid calendar.  And the Guilford County School Calendar.  While we continue to remain child-free (and will be forever), the school calendar is important to me.  It means that the neighborhood pool will be empty during the day (HURRAY!).  It means that kids will be in bed earlier in the evenings.  And it means that the buses will start running through the neighborhood again.  Since I work from home full-time, I don’t really care about getting stuck behind a bus on my way to work.  What I DO care about is the kids standing at the bus stops in the morning and driving the dog, Solo, crazy.  And kids getting off the buses in the afternoon, interrupting our afternoon walks. For more on Solo, Annabelle and the rest of our brood, see my other blog Wag More, Bark….

So yes, I care about when the kids go back to school, what time school starts and the bus schedule.  It means I will also have to alter my day (and the dogs) to keep the craziness to a minimum.  Even the time I get up will change to accommodate the bus.

Another time we will get into my taxes, the school systems I will never send a child to and how it all relates to healthcare.

About nfoste2245

I am approaching 40 and have been married since my early 20's. I have become more than a little frustrated with having to answer incredibly personal questions about my choice to not have children. It is apparently taboo to talk about religion and politics, but confronting me about my reproductive choices is fair game. It is not a choice I made alone, quickly or lightly. My husband and I made it together. I am not "withholding" children or grandchildren from anyone. There is an astonishing lack of understanding over the idea that it is an actual choice, to have a child or not. There is also an amazing lack of support, discussion and resources for those like me, that have made the choice. This is not a blog for kid-haters, or mocking people for having kids. It is a place where we can talk about living full lives, without kids, and without guilt.

Posted on August 8, 2011, in Politics and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

