Genius…

I have been considering investing in a new laptop, in support of my new blogging career of course.  Since I have no illusions about making a living by blogging, I can’t really call it an “investment in the business.”  I just want to be able to blog (and surf) from anywhere.  Couch.  Bed.  Tub.  Closet (not really). Anywhere.

And wouldn’t you know that we are now in the midst of tax-free weekend in NC.  I won’t be gearing up any chitlins to send to school and I am not a teacher. But there is no reason why I should stay home on tax-free weekend.  Unless they ask for some sort of parent ID.  Is there such a thing as a breeder ID card?

So the question is whether or not to pull the trigger on a new laptop and save the tax?  It was going to depend on my level of patience and the process I needed to follow to get the new laptop.  How long would the lines be at my local Apple store?  Would I really want to stand in the line with everyone else?  A line full of parents and (potentially) their bratty and ungrateful kids who think their hot shit cause they are about to go off to college. Or the younger kids, screaming for another iPad cause the new ones are better and have Skype.  How many iPads does one family really need (we have ONE).

Ah, but remember I said it was going to depend on those factors.  Until the Marketing Genius’s (probably promoted from the in-store Genius Bar’s) sent me an email.  An email from heavan.  That said I could order ONLINE and still take advantage of the tax holiday.  No Lines.  No Stores.  No Traffic.  No Parking.  NO KIDS!!!!  And no more questions.

Maybe if I send a link to this post to Steve Jobs and the Apple Genius’s , they will send me a laptop.  I don’t expect to make a living at this, but a perk here and there would be OK!  I have no shame….

UPDATE:  I did go by the Apple store to compare the 11 inch and 13 inch laptops.  The line at 10:30 (they opened at 8:00) was TWO AND A HALF HOURS long.  I am new to this blogging thing and next time I will be sure to take a picture while I am there!

About nfoste2245

I am approaching 40 and have been married since my early 20's. I have become more than a little frustrated with having to answer incredibly personal questions about my choice to not have children. It is apparently taboo to talk about religion and politics, but confronting me about my reproductive choices is fair game. It is not a choice I made alone, quickly or lightly. My husband and I made it together. I am not "withholding" children or grandchildren from anyone. There is an astonishing lack of understanding over the idea that it is an actual choice, to have a child or not. There is also an amazing lack of support, discussion and resources for those like me, that have made the choice. This is not a blog for kid-haters, or mocking people for having kids. It is a place where we can talk about living full lives, without kids, and without guilt.

Posted on August 5, 2011, in Shopping and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

