Mugs and Travel

I had this long post done for you about tax free weekend and I have yet again been derailed.  If you follow me for any length of time, you will discover that this happens quite a bit.  I will save the tax free post for tomorrow.

It was a typical morning.  I lay in bed for a few after the alarm goes off, mostly so I don’t run into Michael and have to talk before I have had my coffee.  I talk to the dog (different than having to talk to Michael, she doesn’t talk back), decide that it will be laundry day cause I don’t feel like making the bed.  And I come downstairs. Feed the goldfish.  The goldfish that I HATE and try to diminish their self-esteem on a daily basis by saying bad things to them (yup, those are my parenting skills at work).  And I take my vitamins and make my coffee.   Everyday.

I use the same coffee mug every day.  You can see it here and you will know why.  I use it, I wash it, and I use it again.  As I was washing it this morning, it started making  creaking noises at me.  At first, I just thought it was tired and complaining like me.   But on closer inspection I found that the handle is cracked!  It is the beginning of the end.  But then, this got me thinking….

I got my mug at Disney World.  I will need to go back to Disney World just to get a new mug (instead of the link to Amazon).  We LOVE Disney World and will find most any excuse to go (perfect example: Princess Half Marathon 2011).  Even if you have kids, it is an absolute MUST to experience Disney World (WORLD, not Land) without your kids.  It took me a while to realize it, but you can DRINK your way through Epcot.  Magic Kingdom is dry, which makes no sense to me since that is where all the kids are and you would probably need a drink or two MORE there than anywhere else.  But Animal Kingdom has drinks.  Not sure about Hollywood Studios since we mostly skip that one.  Any excuse to go back to Disney.  Just make sure you check east coast school calendars and go on a non-vacation week.  We seem to hit it in Feb when all of the NY/NJ/MA people are on vacation.  Not such a great idea unless you like those kinds of accents.

And one last note:  DO NOT run the Disney Princess Half Marathon unless you TRULY enjoy being surrounded by thousands of women in tiara’s, glittered faces and tutu’s with full permission to unleash their inner bitchy princess attitudes.

About nfoste2245

I am approaching 40 and have been married since my early 20's. I have become more than a little frustrated with having to answer incredibly personal questions about my choice to not have children. It is apparently taboo to talk about religion and politics, but confronting me about my reproductive choices is fair game. It is not a choice I made alone, quickly or lightly. My husband and I made it together. I am not "withholding" children or grandchildren from anyone. There is an astonishing lack of understanding over the idea that it is an actual choice, to have a child or not. There is also an amazing lack of support, discussion and resources for those like me, that have made the choice. This is not a blog for kid-haters, or mocking people for having kids. It is a place where we can talk about living full lives, without kids, and without guilt.

Posted on August 4, 2011, in Running, Shopping, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

