Sloth Sunday: Success!

someecards.com - Some women run to enjoy there sweets not me I run to enjoy an Ice cold beerToday was a rest day. I took the dogs for a walk.  That was it. I decided it was better to rest and heal up the blister and toe issues than to take a one step forward, one step back approach. So back to the trail to run 5 on Monday.

In case it hasn’t been clear, I have made some decisions regarding my immediate running future.  The thought of long runs (anything 90- minutes +) was making me DREAD running, so I decided it wasn’t worth it.  I am not going to take something I love to do and twist into something I dread.  So no more long runs.  No more half marathons.  Until I want to.  Whenever that may be.  I am FINE with this decision and will continue to do my 5 and 6 milers for somewhere around 20-25 miles a week. And I am hitting the trails! I am signing up for a 5-mile trail race on 12/8.

I have PR’d both my 5k and my 10k times since the beginning of October.  I call that a successful 2012 race season.

Friday Food:

Breakfast:  Two poached eggs and an english muffin

Snacks:  carrots, peach

Lunch:  Waffle with PB

Dinner:  Chicken and Dumplings and Corn Casserole

Dinner was a HUGE success. It was SO good.  I linked to the recipes so you can try it yourself.

Monday is a holiday.  I a hitting the trail and then may go to a movie.

About nfoste2245

I am approaching 40 and have been married since my early 20's. I have become more than a little frustrated with having to answer incredibly personal questions about my choice to not have children. It is apparently taboo to talk about religion and politics, but confronting me about my reproductive choices is fair game. It is not a choice I made alone, quickly or lightly. My husband and I made it together. I am not "withholding" children or grandchildren from anyone. There is an astonishing lack of understanding over the idea that it is an actual choice, to have a child or not. There is also an amazing lack of support, discussion and resources for those like me, that have made the choice. This is not a blog for kid-haters, or mocking people for having kids. It is a place where we can talk about living full lives, without kids, and without guilt.

Posted on November 12, 2012, in Food/Restaurants, Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Good for you!! I run because I like it, for now. I love being active and challenged while having fun. When it stops being fun, what’s the point? My dance card for “work” is full!

    I’ve always wanted to try trail runs and can’t wait to hear about the upcoming event.

  2. That is the right attitude. Running should be fun. Sometimes running long is enjoyable and motivating, sometimes running short is enjoyable and motivating.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 207 other followers

